Gentle Peace - A Sampler of Songs and Instrumentals (AMRC 0024) -
includes pop, jazz and classical songs and keyboard instrumentals
by composer, Roger Lee Hall.

The classical pieces have Opus (Op.) work numbers and the pop and jazz pieces do not have any number attached to them.

This CD includes songs and instrumentals covering over 40 years.

CD titles on the album (click on the links for music samples - streaming only):

1. Dream World (pop song)
2. The Soho Serenade (jazz song)
3. Free As The Breeze (jazz song)
4. Piano Variations On Original Melody, Op. 1a
5. Percussion Quartet (3rd movement), Op. 2
6. Seasonal Song No. 1: Thaw, Op. 10, No. 1 (for chorus)
7. Seasonal Song No. 2: Spring Bluets, Op. 10, No. 2 (for chorus)
8. Seasonal Song No. 3: Lovely Hill Torrents, Op. 10, No. 3 (for chorus)
9.The Musical Telephone (Scene One - One Act Play)
10. The Musical Telephone (Scene Two - One Act Play)
11. The Musical Telephone (Scene Three - One Act Play)
12. The dark night is ending (instrumental) - for the words click here
13. A Gift Round (for chorus), Op. 18, No. 1
14. Variations on "Auld Lang Syne" (instrumental) Op. 31
15. The Angels handed me a rose (instrumental)
16. Peace (for soloist and chorus), Op. 14
17. A Little Theatre Music (for solo flute), Op. 22
18. Gentle Peace, Op. 21, No. 2 (for vocal quartet, flute and piano)


All titles are First Recordings and most were recorded in live concerts and programs. Lyrics to the songs are included in a text file with the album.

No. 1-3 are pop and jazz songs recorded in the early 1960s.

No. 4 is his first classical composition completed in 1968 while he was an undergraduate music student at Rutgers University.

No. 5 is the final movement of a composition for xylophone, suspended cymbal, snare drum and timpani and composed when Roger was a music student at Rutgers University and first performed by a percussion ensemble in 1970.

Nos. 6-8 were first performed by The Jubilate Chorale in 1979.

Nos. 9-11 contain the complete one act play, The Musical Telephone, in three scenes with incidental music featuring actor, Greg Bazaz, and singer, Dorothy Yanish. The play was written and directed by Roger Hall and based on a chapter from the popular 19th century utopian novel, Looking Backward, by Edward Bellamy. The play was premiered at Emerson College in Boston for the Bellamy Centennial Conference in 1988.

No. 14 was composed in memory of Gerhard Finkenbeiner, glass music instrument maker, first performed in 2000.

No. 15 is the instrumental version of a song dedicated to the memory of a former actress, Grace Bradley Boyd, the wife of actor William Boyd, who portrayed the popular western film star character of Hopalong Cassidy in 66 films during the 1930s, 1940s and 1950s. Read more about this song at Hopalong Cassidy Songs.

No. 17 was written in memory of Dorothy Woodward, co-founder of a local theater group.

Nos. 16 and 18 are based on an anti-war poem by a 10 year old girl during The War of 1812. Read the Boston Globe article about this 1814 anti-war poem, written several months before "The Star-Spangled Banner" -- click here

"The Soho Serenade" (No. 2) is also available as a single from CD Baby, click box below--

Ethel Regan: The Soho Serenade


To order the "Gentle Peace" CD (AMRC 0024)

click here






Also available are arrangements of beautiful Shaker spirituals
by Roger Lee Hall...


Celestial Praises
(AMRC 0017)




Gentle Words
(AMRC 0016)

This CD contains arrangements of Shaker tunes, plus singing by Shaker sisters, and an excerpt from the 1980 interview with composer, Aaron Copland, about his arrangements of the popular "Simple Gifts" Shaker dance song.






For the music compositions by Roger Lee Hall, go to

PineTree Music











Help support the preservation mission of this website.

Purchase music books, broadsides, CDs and DVDs at the

CAMP Store


Return to top of page






© 2015-2017 PineTree Productions. All information on this page not to be published without permission.